ANNUAL MEETING

FRIENDS OF THE PAUL SAWYIER PUBLIC LIBRARY

OCTOBER 14, 2024

PRESENT

Board Members: Mary Lynn Collins, Dudley Ellis, George Fowler, Judy Goddard, Arba Kenner, Judy Martin, Lori Mcintire, Margie Moore, Leah Ritter, Julie Roney, Jean Ruark, Judy Stratton, Glenn Thomas, Russ Wright, and Charlene VanWinkle.

Others: Cloyd Stratton, Kathy Goin, Cheryl Sandefur, Pat Thomas, Alice Delambre, Rev. Angela Dalton, and Carolyn Lynch.

The meeting was called to order at 5:03 PM by President Arba Kenner in the Community Room. Roll taken by Charlene VanWinkle.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the September 9, 2024, Friends Board meeting were sent to members prior to this meeting. Minutes approved.

TREASURER'S REPORT

Arba Kenner presented the September 2024 treasurer's report (attachment #1.) A debit occurred for taxes.

MEMBERSHIP REPORT

Dudley Ellis gave the membership report. He reported for September 2024 there were 40 new or renewed members. We have 517 members in good standing. Our database contains 1826 contacts. A total of 33 renewal notices sent.

FINANCIAL REPORT

Julie Roney presented the September 2024 bookstore financial report (attachment #2). The library was closed for Labor Day, and the Square account was down September 28 and 30. A special donation was received in memory of Shirley Gail Moore; acknowledgement sent.

BOOKSTORE REPORT

Judy Stratton reported the book store is continuing to be restocked. Square was down for a period during the recent Bookstore Sale, but accommodations were made for patrons wanting to make purchases with credit cards. The Square transfer has occurred with Jean Ruark now assigned as the administrator.

LIBRARY NEWS

Jean Ruark, Director, reported many good programs and youth activities continue to happen. Next week is National Friends of Libraries Week. Jean expressed appreciation to the Friends for generously supporting Paul Sawyier Public Library; a letter of appreciation will appear in The State Journal.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS

Nominating Chair, Dudley Ellis, reported the following nominees (attachment #3) recommended by the Nominating Committee:

President - Dudley Ellis

1st Vice President – Leah Ritter

2nd Vice President – Cloyd Stratton

Secretary – Cheryl Sandefur

Treasurer – Chris Evans

Board Members for 2024-2025 –Dantrea Hampton, Margie Moore, Judy Stratton, Glenn Thomas, Charlene VanWinkle, Kathy Goin

Board Members for 2025-2026 – Russ Wright, George Fowler, Judy Goddard, Lori Macintire, Julie Roney, Judy Martin

No nominees were received from the floor. George Fowler moved that the Board accept the entire slate; Judy Goddard seconded the motion which then passed by a single voice vote. Judy Stratton and Mary Lynn Collins will continue as Book Store Co-Chairs.

NEXT MEETING – The next meeting will be November 11, 2024, at 5 PM in the Community Room and via Zoom upon request.

ADJOURNMENT -The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 PM by President Kenner. A potluck dinner was enjoyed by all.

Submitted by Charlene VanWinkle, Secretary